Poets logo

The Leaf Falls

A short poem about getting older

By Joey LowePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
The Leaf Falls
Photo by Marko Blažević on Unsplash

I've never written poetry before albeit I did study the genre decades ago while in college. I just never found a need or want to write in that manner. This may be in part because I've always had difficulty communicating with words that rhyme or using musical stanzas to get my message across. Now that I'm older, I've decided to abide by the promise I made myself even on the little things. No regrets! So, here goes my inaugural attempt at poetry.

The leaf falls, the sun sets, winter comes, I'm not dead yet

The winds blow, the snows draw in, my body stiffens

Darkness engulfs, the moon rises, I awaken

Stem I must, forward I go, I fall again, I'm not dead yet

The sun ascends, passion restored, I leap forth, commencing anew

The cycle repeats, progress is made, faith is restored

The leaf falls, I'm not dead yet

Thank you for taking the time to read my first attempt at writing a poem. If it were not for the many communities here at Vocal.media, I'm not sure I would have ever attempted to write this. If you enjoyed it reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it, please consider giving it a heart. Thank you again!

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Joey Lowe

Just an old disabled dude living in Northeast Texas. In my youth, I wanted to change the world. Now I just write about things. More about me is available at www.loweco.com including what I'm currently writing about or you can tweet me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.