Poets logo

The Last Thread

The thread I’m hanging onto is going to tear, and soon. Whether I let go or fall with the final strand, the outcome will be the same. So, what will that outcome be?

By Josh MorganPublished 7 months ago 2 min read
The Last Thread
Photo by Greg Willson on Unsplash

What is hope when it really runs out?

Maybe it's how I used it- I wonder if I abused it

I guess now I have to accept the truth and face the music

But the truth is I don't like the song that's playin'

The sound of this broken record will play forever and again

But in the end I don't believe in forever, only again and again

When a heart's uprooted who's gonna listen to what it's sayin'?

My mind, I'm losin'- and one way or another, my fault's been proven

But when hope is given up there's no losin' it forever

Because somehow- again and again, I get it and lose it over and over again

I really don't get it, the tighter my grip the harder it is to hold

What is hope?

How can I find somethin' when losin' it and lose somethin' in findin' it?

I really don't get it- What am I doin' in lookin' for forever?

When I look within' I find myself movin' between forever and never

Stuck- standing between two extremes, or so it seems

Tryin' to look to the future but my past has a hold on the present

Lookin' into the future, hopin' to find somethin' to hope for

But what is hope?

I feel like- it's dangerous to desire, like I'm playin with fire

I feel like- chasin' dreams I might catch a flat tire, without any time to spare or even a spare tire

I feel like- givin' up again with the hope to never get up again

So what is hope? If I give it up again I'll be back where I started all over again

I feel like- my heart is aching and my mind is speakin'

I feel like- speakin' my mind if no one minds me speakin'

I feel like- feelings are fickle, they move with the wind and swing with the mood

If nothin' will soothe me what will I do?-

With all the lies I still believe to be true

Facin' the music but is this what I should be listenin' to?

I'm thinkin' too much, thinkin' 'bout such-

Things like- What I'm pursuin'- What am I doin?

Things like- What is hope? What am I lookin' for and how long will I go?-

Before I find hope in somethin' else and lose it again

Or, until I take this broken record off the player buy a new one and it breaks again

If this is temporary then when will the repetition end?

What is hope when the last thread tears? What's left in the air?

What is hope if nothing last forever?- Not joy and neither sorrow

What is it now and what is it then?

It comes and goes as the wind blows

But when the last thread tears, what is it then?

social commentarysad poetry

About the Creator

Josh Morgan

I began writing as a means of expressing creativity, relieving stress, and venting emotions. I mention my daily battle with mental health a lot, I hope it is relatable and inspiring to readers, as writing is something I'm passionate about.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Josh MorganWritten by Josh Morgan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.