Poets logo

The Last Moment We Keep

What Stays with Us

By Rii PiercePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
10
The Last Moment We Keep
Photo by Hector Gomez on Unsplash

My heart beats like the steady rhythm of waves caressing the sand

The grass beneath me still cool & damp from mornings fragile dew

I lay with eyes closed

The suns warmth embracing me as a child of its own

Soothed by a gentle breeze and nothing but the sounds of birds chirping in the distance

No amount of science or money could convince me the sky was falling

My world held no doubt or fear

No hatred or pain

Only the sweet breath of serenity to envelope my existence

And yet, the sky was falling

Crashing down around me with the rage of an angry god

Taking back the gifts he bestowed

All was as a muffled buzzing too low to register

I am blind to the cracks in the blue or the falling clouds around me

I am deaf to the screams of terror as the world splits in pieces

I feel nothing of the quivering ground beneath me

Ready to give way at any moment

As if I’d been preparing for this moment all my life

And had chosen this place in the grass to bring peace at the end of the world

I know my time is coming

The air will turn solid and rip the breath from my lungs

The ground will cave under my weight and bury me alive

The clouds will fill and grow cold

Raining down deadly shards of ice to pierce through my body

I know this, but I stay

My eyes still closed and my feet buried in the grass

Toes and fingers curling around each blade

Feeling the suns warmth on my skin that is no longer there

Maybe these memories will stay with me when I am gone

Maybe the last moments of the world are all we get to keep

This is the moment I’ve chosen to keep

I want the sun, the breeze, the grass, to live on in me forever.

nature poetry
10

About the Creator

Rii Pierce

(She/her.)Words have inexplicable power. ONE word has the power to change any situation just as quickly as it takes to form. Avid writer, voracious reader, compelled activist, and anxious creator, I am newly embracing what I have to offer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.