Poets logo

Alight with Thunder

Crack The Sky

By Rii PiercePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
6
Alight with Thunder
Photo by Tom Barrett on Unsplash

The wind picks up under cloudy skies

I watch as lightning strikes

And thunder crashes over me

I am but a child

Who has not yet lived a life

Captured in wonder by the sheer force of nature

Hues of purple and orange grace the setting sun

Whispering droplets of rain against the sliding door

*

I lay staring out at the magic before me

Wholly entranced by this mystical torrent

I have never felt this before

The electricity dashing across the sky feels as though it’s coming from within me

*

Did I cause this? Could I cause this?

*

My newborn mind racing with possibility

Questioning every crack, every roll, every drop

How can something this beautiful even be real?

What powerful sequences align to create this treasure?

*

The lightning strikes closer and my eyes widen

Amazed and dancing on the edge of fear

The plains beneath swaying and swerving with the wind

A faint salty smell of the ocean rising to greet me from miles away

Gently caressing the enveloping fragrance of rain

Lingering and wandering through the clouds

Filling them up with a cool breeze thick with mist

*

Rain clouds growing dark and ominous

Waiting with baited breath to pour out their hearts

A sharp inhale before the storm finds its way

It’s radiant glow in the last leaving light

*

Mother suns bides her time

Sinking slowly to catch a glimpse of her nocturnal sister

Waiting for the moment they share together

Admiring the beauty of their brothers crashing light

*

Finally she comes to rest

Her eyes drifting lazily to sleep in great peace

Turning over they key for moon and sky to go on

She rests and I stay wild eyed and ready

The storm in all its raging glory

Pouring and crashing and rolling

Somehow still alight by the moon

Who’s precious gaze lands upon me

*

I am but a child

Who’s not yet lived a life

She beckons me and I heed her call

Without a thought running barefoot into celestial waves

Eyes cast upwards, spinning in atmospheric waterfalls

Crying out into the chaos

My tears buried beneath splendor

*

I don’t know if I will ever feel this again

Overwhelmed by such coursing beauty

Swept away by the wind

Utterly taken by it all

Captivated beyond what any words can say

Lost in the thunder

*

I am but a child

Who’s not yet lived a life

And it is in this moment I wish to stay

Where impossibilities come alive and carry me away

Raining dreams heavy over all of me

*

I am home.

nature poetry
6

About the Creator

Rii Pierce

(She/her.)Words have inexplicable power. ONE word has the power to change any situation just as quickly as it takes to form. Avid writer, voracious reader, compelled activist, and anxious creator, I am newly embracing what I have to offer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.