Poets logo

The Last Kiss

A whispered goodbye

By Colleen Millsteed Published 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 2 min read
8
Image courtesy of Pixabay

My day began as normal, routine you could say,

I woke and smiled at your sleeping form, happy we’re okay,

I watch the sunrise from our window, bathed in its ray,

And give a silent thanks, ecstatic to feel this way.

**

As I look at you longingly, you open your eyes as you wake,

A gracious smile parts your lips, a smile that causes my heart to double take,

I smooth my hand across your silken skin, as my fingers quake,

And gaze upon you in wonder, as we welcome another daybreak.

**

I slip into your arms and caress you with my desire,

You groan and writhe in ecstasy as I set you on fire,

Your breath becomes ragged as you surf the wave higher,

And then let you succumb to the release as you begin to tire.

**

For sometime we lay and doze, appreciating the emotions,

Happy and carefree within our joint devotions,

We’ve loved for many years and become comfortable in our oceans,

Depths that are ours alone, depicted within our notions.

**

But when we awoke again, everything had changed,

And the way you look at me was terribly deranged,

Like you are filled with hatred, our love gone; exchanged,

Something was different and we were suddenly estranged.

**

You climbed from our bed,

And I watched you with sheer dread,

I asked a question, in fact I argued and I pled,

But you broke my heart by ignoring me instead.

**

As the morning wore on, I was met with our fate,

You told me it was goodbye, our love turned to hate,

You shattered my illusions of what I believed was so great,

And denied me my dream of loving you as my eternal mate.

**

With a final look of pain upon my face, you took away my bliss,

Laughing at my sorrow, my ignorance that anything was amiss,

As you opened the door to leave, I plead and start to reminisce,

But instead, you lean over and meet my lips, in our final passionate kiss,

Which then left me standing, broken, unbelieving that we could end like this.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
8

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    What the actual hell is wrong with that guy??? He made me soooo angry!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Loved the the flow!!!

  • That's just cold & callous, giving no indication or warning, just boink, kiss & gone.

  • JBaz4 months ago

    There is layers to your character, strong and defiant

  • I bought your book on Kindle . Thank you for writing about this subject . I am a she warrior too.

  • Joe Patterson4 months ago

    Powerful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.