Poets logo

The Last Kiss

God Knew But I Did Not

By A. J. SchoenfeldPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Like
The Last Kiss
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

The last kiss he gave

So soft and full of love

But too fast to hold onto

He did not mean it

To be the end

But God did

It hung on my lips

So long I can feel it now

Joy, pain, gift, and loss

I did not know it

Was the end

But God did

I hold to what we had

I beg for one more day

If only he came back

We did not want it

To be the end

But God did

I ache for his arms

I once felt so safe

Now I'm lost and lone

This pain I saw no way

For it to end

But God did

Even now I feel hurt

But I also feel joy

All the time we did have

I see now it goes on

It did not end

As God did

I feel his kiss

I am safe in his arms

I just have to shut my eyes

And go back in time

With God's aid

Then I see I am able

To do more than I knew

I go on and I live

I did not know our end

Was not my end

But God did

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

A. J. Schoenfeld

I only write about the real world. But if you look close enough, you'll see there's magic hiding in plain sight everywhere.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.