Poets logo

The Last Christmas Card

An ode to my Dad who left a surprise in my mailbox after his funeral.

By Crystal A. WolfePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I remember when I got the call,


“You need to come home…


“Your dad took a turn for the worse.”


I nearly dropped the phone.

.

Packing my bags in a furry,


my gut told me this was really true.


I am going to lose my Dad,


his time on Earth is overdue.

.

Thanks to COVID travel precautions,


it took me two days to get home.


I worried that he was going to pass any moment,


so my mind began to roam.

.

I made it to the hospital in record time.


Walking into your room,


I smelt sweat, antiseptic, and urine.


The sorrow began to loom.

.

I’ve smelt those stenches before,


considering my previous line of work.


I knew in my gut what was happening,


as the knots in my stomach began to lurk.

.

Suddenly, our differences no longer mattered.


We butted heads, had hard moments,


we yelled at each other,


but, today was our atonement.

.

I held your hand through the night,


knowing my sisters were asleep,


I wiped the sweat from your brow.


Each time, I felt my heart weep.

.

In the morning, I knew it was the day.


You were going to die.


I told my sisters the best,


but I knew they were lies.

.

I wanted to protect them,


and protect you too. 


You celebrated life and chose this


day to leave us out of the blue.

.

It was a beautiful day.


Sunny and cold, but today was for you.


Just a few days before Christmas,


I knew you’d see this through.

.

Christmas was your favorite holiday.


Some of my best memories are this time of year.


All because of you and mom,


you brought your daughters holiday cheer.

.

I wept at your funeral,


but remembered what you said:


“Celebrate my life


and not my death.”

.

I was composed at your burial,


although it was tough.


I still had a few grudges,


but I moved past them even though it was rough.

.

I returned afterward,


driving back home.


Each mile sucked, but I knew


this story was part of your tome.

.

Trying to return to normal life,


I opened the mailbox


but in my hands,


was an absolute paradox.

.

I held a Christmas card,


from you.


Various emotions,


started to ensue.

.

You managed to rip my heart open,


despite your recent death.


Flashbacks flooded me,


remembering your dying breath.

.

“I Love You,”


said the card.


With your fancy signature and kind words,


I realized my heart was marred.

.

Again, I reflected on our differences,


yet obscure.


Because your funeral


feels like a blur.

.

You’ve proven to me that love after death,


is wholesome and pure.


We had our differences,


but love endures.

Image of the last Christmas card captured by the author, Crystal A. Walker from her father. Resting in the mailbox awaiting her return home.

This poem was originally published on Medium and CrystalsWritingRoom.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Crystal A. Wolfe

Blogger | Creative Writer | Traveler | Full-Time RVer

You can find all of my articles on my blog as well on Medium where I'm most active in Humor, Lifestyle, and Travel. I've self-published one fantasy fiction with the sequel in the works.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.