Poets logo

The Kitchen

A really "Messed up" (but clean) Limerick

By Graham CookePublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
6
The Kitchen
Photo by Sidekix Media on Unsplash

Oh, I was once a young lad from back east;

Who had a hard time baking with yeast.

But as much I tried,

Even when doe'y-eyed,

My work never made for a feast.

Though I did find true love later,

With a gal, I admit I did bait her.

We did dream of a new home,

Even bought a garden gnome,

Since we'd be our home's creator.

In due time, I did get her permission,

For access and use of the kitchen.

And, in time, she did learn of my culinary inclination,

For cooking and baking with much determination.

Yes, it's all about variety and spice in our foods,

That helped us avoid any further cooking feuds.

For it's the kitchen that is the home's center,

That we knew, and neither to be the dissenter.

About the Author

performance poetry
6

About the Creator

Graham Cooke

Semi-retired contract technical writer, editor and content developer now writing creatively in the genres of adventure, post-apocalyptic and science fiction, and technical gear reviews.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.