Poets logo

The Kiss

Our First Kiss

By Whitney JohnsonPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Holding each other closely

The feeling of our lips touching

My heart beat increasing and our palms getting sweaty.

Noticing how everything seems to stand still,

As we are still embraced.

The birds outside seem to shout in approval

Along with the cold gust of wind.

It makes me think, It’s just a kiss

Why does everyone make a big deal about it?

Anyone that had this would really miss it,

If it was taken away and couldn’t do it again.

The world seems to hate us,

Friends and family don’t approve of us.

When all it really takes is just a kiss,

This kiss, a kind of kiss that makes you feel different

Special even.

When we finally pull apart and move away,

I notice a smile on her face,

This is why we’re together

Because we’re happy

and moments like these make us feel complete.

Again we kiss,

And again the world stands still

It’s as if it doesn’t matter to me or to her.

She is the center of my universe and

I am her galaxy.

Just imagine,

It started because of a kiss,

Our kiss.

My First Kiss

I'm a lesbian and I was in a biracial relationship and that's really frowned upon. We would get looks and comments. Well, this is a poem about how our first kiss went and how I felt.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.