Poets logo

The Killing of Freddie Powell

The First Poem in a Series of Many More to Come

By Carson DavidPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I promise this isn't nonsense, not even a bluff,

But taking your life surely isn't a task too tough.

For I've finally decided that I've had enough,

Because you're a useless cigar who hasn't one more puff.

Although your kitchen window is obscured through the rain,

It's not enough to prevent causing you very real pain.

It will come as a bullet piercing right through your brain,

For I know that you, Freddie Powell, will die in vain.

Meanwhile, I'm playing a sport or perhaps just a game,

And the objective's to hit you through the window frame.

Now, I will finally grant you a moment of fame,

For a week, Mr. Powell, you'll be a household name.

The action I had to take may be considered foul,

But you were right over there, Mr. Freddie Powell.

And just as you hung up your fancy, green dish towel,

Behind me, I heard a coyote howl his last howl.

And thus by the strike of a bullet the game was won,

For there you lay, Mr. Powell, struck down by a gun.

However, since I surely didn't have enough fun,

I have decided that you will not be the last one.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Carson David

North Carolina 🌾

Journalist 📖

15 Years Old

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.