Poets logo

The Jilted Lover Farewell.

Love Gone Sour.

By Wilfred KiariePublished about a year ago 4 min read
The Jilted Lover Farewell.
Photo by JD Mason on Unsplash

Dear Mike,

It seems like just yesterday,

We laughed and loved in sweet array,

But now the winds have changed their way,

And I find myself in disarray.

You promised me the world and more,

A love so true and strong, adored,

But now I find myself ignored,

Like a book left on a dusty floor.

What happened to the love we shared,

The passion that once filled the air?

It's like you vanished into thin air,

And left me standing here, ensnared.

I thought I had found my heart's desire,

A love so pure, it would never tire,

But now I feel the burning fire,

Of a heartache that won't expire.

I gave you all that I could give,

My heart, my soul, my will to live,

But now it seems that you would rather sieve,

The love we had, with nothing left to sieve.

I wonder now, what I did wrong,

Why our love couldn't just go on,

But now I'm left with just a song,

A sad tune that won't belong.

Perhaps it's time to move along,

To let you go, and find a new dawn,

A love that won't ever be withdrawn,

A love that won't ever be gone.

So, dear Mike, I bid you farewell,

And with a heavy heart, I must tell,

That our love has now gone stale,

And it's time for me to set sail.

I hope this letter finds you well,

And that life has treated you swell,

As for me, I've been through hell,

Since our love story fell.

I tried to move on, I really did,

But the memories of us, they never rid,

Of the moments we shared, the love we hid,

And the promises we made, that now forbid.

I still remember the way you smiled,

The way you held me, like a child,

The way you whispered, "we'll be fine,"

But now, those words seem like a lie.

It's been a while since we last spoke,

Since we laughed, or even joked,

But the pain of your love, it never revoked,

And it's a heavy burden that I've invoked.

I've cried a thousand tears, and more,

I've locked myself behind closed doors,

But the pain of losing you, it still roars,

Like a lion, that never deplores.

But as I write these lines to you,

I realize, that it's time to renew,

To let go of the love that once drew,

And to move on, to start anew.

I don't regret the love we shared,

The moments that we once bared,

But it's time to move forward, unimpaired,

And to find a love that won't ever be compared.

So, dear Mike, I hope you understand,

That it's time for me to take a stand,

To let go of the love that we once planned,

And to find a new pet, that's grand.

It's been a while since I last wrote,

Since I let my feelings and emotions denote,

But I want you to know, that I've found a new mote,

And my heart is filled with a different coat.

I've met someone who makes my heart sing,

Who makes my soul dance, and my spirit ring,

Someone who loves me, for everything,

And for whom, I'll do anything.

I never thought I'd find love again,

That my heart would be healed, from the pain,

But this new love, it's like a sweet refrain,

That fills my heart, like a summer rain.

I want you to know, that I hold no grudges,

No anger, no hate, no emotional nudges,

For the past is the past, and the future budges,

And the present, is where my new love pledges.

I hope that you've found love too,

A love that's pure, and forever true,

And that it makes your heart feel brand new,

Like a rose, covered in morning dew.

So, dear Mike, I want to say goodbye,

To the love we had, that has now gone awry,

And to wish you well, as you soar high,

Towards a love, that never runs dry.

I write this letter with a heart so light,

A heart that's filled with love so bright,

For the new love in my life, is my delight,

And it feels like everything, finally is right.

I want to thank you, for the love we had,

For the moments we shared, and the love we clad,

For the memories we made, good and bad,

For they've taught me so much, and for that, I'm glad.

I've learned that love is not just a feeling,

It's a choice, a commitment, and a healing,

It's about growing together, and revealing,

The true essence of love, that's so appealing.

I've also learned that heartache can be a teacher,

That pain can be a motivator, and a preacher,

That love lost, can be a blessing, and a feature,

That opens the door, to a love that's richer.

So, dear Mike, as I bid you adieu,

I want to thank you, for the love we once knew,

And to wish you well, in everything you do,

May love find you, and stay with you, forever anew.

Sincerely,

Sarah.

love poems

About the Creator

Wilfred Kiarie

Former Health and Fitness Influencer/ Author/ Article writer.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Wilfred KiarieWritten by Wilfred Kiarie

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.