Poets logo

The Itch

by: Jack Arnett

By Jack Wayne ArnettPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2

Simple glance upon the mirror an echo stirs at something queer?

At first I thought it a smear upon the mirror until I drew all so near.

A closer look a careful stare as I drew near.

A simple twitch upon my nose is all I knew.

Just a twitch, but boy did it itch!

I scratched it light, went on my way with little to say.

Let´s begin this day as any other, but that damn twitch is here to stay!

I scratched at it harder and I spite my nose to make it right!

Why must we fight oh twitch upon my nose?

Heaven knows you´re just a twitch!

Why make such a pitch?

I drew a fit as I grabbed my nose and drew first blood.

Blinded by rage or blood, not knowing which one, I ran for the door.

Down the stairs is all I need to stop the bleed.

First step fine but second the twitch that itched railed me again.

I slapped at it in fury as in a hurry.

Suddenly blurry, the world tumbled and I felt a loud crack up my back.

Laying there still upon the hard cold floor I feel life slipping all because of

the twitch that itched that caused a pitch and now my life is off like a switch.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Jack Wayne Arnett

I enjoy writing in many genres. My favorite is horror, but I also enjoy poetry, romance and military life. I love the challenge of writing outside my comfort zone as a challenge. I live in Riverside, California and have 5 daughters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.