Poets logo

The Insane Society

This is the story of my very personal struggle with fitting in with my family and the structure of society itself. Do you ever feel like an alien intruding on the human race?

By Madeleine merrillPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

I can’t take anymore of your pain or I won’t sustain my own life. Why cant you all take responsibility for the scars that you gave me, I’ll behave see? Never been loved so don’t know what it would look like, but I’m not a tyke and I need people to know it’s possible to heal from abuse or misuse of a soul full of pure intentions- only wanting to better his friends. Only want to hear some amends.

I’m open and I’m hoping that I find my way without having to stray from my values and compassion that keep contrasting with the world. The greed that impedes their hearts makes mine break apart. Isn’t love stronger than the mongrels in government?

I'm not tempted when I’m contemplative because I trust my gut that I’ll get out of this rut no matter what. Are the cruel intentions that I won’t mention worth your energy that could be spent helping another human to see the light and give up the lonely fight of survival- don’t we all deserve a revival? Maybe its primal to protect those I love and to sacrifice myself if they really crave that wealth, regardless of health.

Don’t give up just because you don’t live up to someone's expectations. Remove the mask and stay on task at doing your part to impart kindness and love to the lonely and dejected that aren’t protected, continuously subjected to abuse and over use of a giving nature. The quiet creatures that feature strength in society and struggle with piety of the catholic variety.

Don’t let someone hurting be a burden, let them lighten their load before they implode or have to dispose of the relationship. It’s your loss whenever you toss someone out and force them to reroute over and over when you could have simply taken their hand and never abandoned them. Walk a mile in their shoes before you let them lose another piece of their heart, that would at least be a start. Gratitude has a greater magnitude than inflicting more pain, hoping they gain what?

Time to re-evaluate your strategy and consider the battery life a person has left before they're bereft of hope and left with a rope to decide if their going to hang themselves or throw it to another fighter. Show love always because you never know the toll that a person is enduring or how much they’re pouring their heart out.

Don’t fall victim to the victim mentality or brutal reality that every human suffers, some just have it rougher but that makes us tougher. Don’t give up until you live up to your unlimited potential to handle any wrench in the wheel that keeps spinning regardless of winning a Grammy or begging for pennies. This world needs you and will feed your soul if you can roll with the punches and sit through occasional lunches, chatting of weather and whether this man or that sits in the white house, when really it’s the quiet mouse that can impact your life and free you from the excess that has never contributed to success.

The change needs to be inside us, no president can define us or rewind the history of hate that seems to dictate more than love of our brothers and taking care of our mothers.

I propose to dispose of technology and acknowledge our own worth because we have to unearth the service we bring to our community that desperately needs unity, and to stop the unlimited power of impunity that shields the kings in glass castles as they hurl their stones on top of the needy and further the greedy.

History shouldn’t be a mystery if you look at the facts and the failures, the pacts and the pardons. Who are you fighting for or are you just inciting more pain to the already drained and down trodden members of society that know more piety than the mighty and understand how silly the rat race that typically leads to an unending chase for happiness…hoping something will fill the void when really we’re simply devoid of emotions and looking for more potions to wipe out the sad reality that a life without sharing or caring for man entails selfish pursuits to escape from our roots and leaves a hole in replace of our souls.

Do you really want to be a robot that’s only sought for mass producing a generation that desperately needs regeneration of hope to cope with the fires our elders imparted before they departed clinging to notions of greatness and acting unabashedly racist.

Maybe the kids have grown up and will learn how to show up for each other, rebuilding trust in ourselves and melding our purpose to be of service by unearthing our nature and teaching the preachers that they need not shout because we know what life is about- you forced us to open our eyes and watch the demise of humanity because of selfish choices and disingenuous voices that lie through their teeth and pretend that its normal to always be formal.

Children are blessings and you’re messing us up by expecting us to simply survive without love or emotions and you think there's a pill or a potion that can fix us when really you broke us by withholding support unless we report that we are now programmed to go through life like a warrior, thinking we need to conform when really a massive reform in the family is in order.

My love is unconditional, so why is yours conditional on me keeping the secrets of abuse that has caused me to be a recluse?

How can you see someone hurting and call them a burden without ever looking in the mirror, maybe they’ll see it clearer when their own kids struggle amid the rubble that producing children as a means of escape from their own self hate can create. Children shouldn’t have to parent their parents inner child that was starved for love or feel the pressure of being a reflection of somebody else that can’t face their own lack of identity and see that we are a separate entity.

I’m proud of my sensitivity, but don’t use it against me or think that I’ll be your scapegoat forever simply because I’m different and desire the fire inside me that loves with no limits and questions the succession of power and policies.

My mind is my own and just because I’m not owned by the media or trends and won’t bend on my values doesn’t make me weak or unable to seek my own destiny to bring the best of me to the deserving, never reserving my kindness for those on the typical path of mind numbing motions to avoid all emotions and gaining “Success” through the badge on their vest.

I won’t rest if I can invest in saving a soul from the hole that I’ve lived in most of my life, you can’t even begin to imagine the perspective I have as I reflect on my past and question why everyone abandons me or continues to damage me, simply because they can’t manage me. I’ve been controlled to the point that my sisters have brainwashed me to think the family dysfunction is all a conjunction of my struggles and they watch from a far but never assist because they’ve deemed it my cross to resist happiness and continue to subsist simply to contain all of their pain as they roll their eyes and demonize me to the point of leaving my heart with so many scars that I feel unworthy of love.

I may be the youngest but I’ve survived more trauma than the ER can handle and been exposed to more sadness than any human could light a candle to.

I’m not through with this life but I’m exhausted from maintaining my unique view of priorities and protecting the suffering who have withstood so much rebuffing that their self esteem simply needs to be redeemed by recognizing their talents and hearing their challenges, no one needs more blame for their pain or critiques of their choices- we need to be able to have individual voices and question intentions when they don’t mention all of humanity being affected by the current insanity.

slam poetrysad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Madeleine merrill

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.