Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

The Ingredients for Alphabet Soup

Take a pinch of imagination and a soupçon of silliness; combine with an ounce of wit and a tablespoon of rhyme

By Rachel DeemingPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
10
The Ingredients for Alphabet Soup
Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

A is for annoying, the place where tempers flare,

B is for bonanza, getting something from thin air.

C is for cadwallader, a great name for a dame,

D is for disarming, grab that weapon 'fore it maims!

E is for an echo, the reverb from the call,

F is for fuck right off to people who appal.

G is for gyration, the way to fill a club,

H is for hysteria, a tickly belly rub.

I is for intriguing, the scent of something good,

J is for j-juicy, the moisture of your food.

K is for the Kraken, the monster of the deep,

L is for light linen, put your head on when you sleep.

M is for manila, the finest writing stuff,

N is for nostalgia, when the present's not enough.

O is for organic, the purest of the growers,

P is for pedantic, the rules that make us slower.

Q is for quixotic, for seekers of their dreams,

R is for repulsive, bodies bursting at the seams.

S is for sensation, the experience of life,

T is for traumatic, the navigation of all strife.

U is for usurper, creator of unrest,

V is for vagina, women's lady bits undressed.

W is whiny, weeping, wasteful, wrong and wrote,

X is for the xylophone, metal bars lined up by note.

Y is for you know, that word, the one that I forget...

Z is for zygotic, a word I've not used yet.

***

Except for now.

And if I was allowed one more line that one above is what it would be. But I'm not so it can't be.

I enjoyed writing this so much. I just let it come, no contrivance, just typing away as the words arrived. The rhymes maybe took a little more work but all of the words just popped into my head and I ran with them until I snatched them and placed them into this poem where they belong. No freedom for them!

Thanks for stopping by! Please do leave a comment as I do love to interact with my readers.

slam poetryinspirationalhumorCONTENT WARNING
10

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred4 months ago

    Great shot at teh Challenge , I really enjoyed this

  • Hands down my favourite was V for Vagina! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I love how you just typed as the words arrived!!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    I love this! I can tell you had fun. I would love to see the illustrated book of your alphabet soup (V would have to be symbolic I suppose...lol) But you truly covered so much of "life" here.

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    I feel like a child just learning the alphabet. Ah, nostalgia for the days of yore,

  • hahaha, this is perfect

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    This FELT like it was fun to write. And that always makes it fun to read.

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    "Women's lady bits" and I'm dead 😅

  • Gerard DiLeo4 months ago

    Zygotic. Now you've used it. Check that off your bucket list.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.