Poets logo

The In Between

Sometimes I experience a strange feeling...

By A Lady with a PenPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Inverse Challenge
The In Between
Photo by Fabio Jock on Unsplash

A Reverse Poem

Achieving calm is impossible when anxiety is present.

Sometimes I experience a strange feeling,

And for a moment, I can glimpse the light.

Assuredly, I am calm,

Believing that - surely - everything will be okay.

In those fleeting seconds,

Lifted above the chaos of doubt,

I am gently cradled

And I almost - almost -

Feel joy ...

But,

Feel joy

I almost - almost -

And in truth, I am not cradled

Lifted above the chaos of doubt.

In those fleeting seconds,

Everything will not be okay,

I am calm, shattered -

Assuredly, when I dread what is to come

And for a moment, I can glimpse the light

A known feeling often returns,

When I am anxious,

And sometimes,

I experience a strange feeling.

To be read top-to-bottom, then bottom-to-top

Mental Healthsad poetryFree Verse

About the Creator

A Lady with a Pen

Caroline Robertson's, books are beloved by both adults and children alike for their illustrations and engaging stories. She takes readers on an adventure, giving them the opportunity to explore different cultures, settings, and characters.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    I like how this feels scattered, mimicking the mind when struggling with the back-and-forth of anxiety.

  • Teresa Renton4 months ago

    Exactly how it is! Skilfully executed, congratulations 🤗

  • Amanda Starks4 months ago

    I'm so happy to see another poem on the winner's list that talks about mental health!! Anxiety is something I've dealt with for years and this poem really hammered the feeling home. Thank you for sharing this and congrats on your win!!

  • Wooohooooo congratulations on your win! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Gabriel Huizenga4 months ago

    Powerfully vulnerable, and relatable! Really lovely work, congratulations!!

  • D.K. Shepard4 months ago

    Cool concept! Congrats!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Excellent!!! Congratulations on the runner-up win!!!

  • Anna 4 months ago

    Congrats!!😊

  • Marilyn Glover5 months ago

    Nicely done, Lady with a pen!

A Lady with a PenWritten by A Lady with a Pen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.