Poets logo

The Importance of Sleep

Is it hypocritical to pull an all-nighter to study the importance of sleep?

By CthulhuPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Importance of Sleep
Photo by Ben Blennerhassett on Unsplash

The numbers on the clock seem to mesh together

In my hazy view that won’t focus

3 turns to 4 and 4 turns to 5

I watch the minutes tick up and up

Numbers somehow mean nothing to me

After so many hours have passed

But when the clock resets in the morning

I know I will feel as if I am running out of time

Instead of having too much to count

I put on my glasses

But my vision is still blurry

From my drooping eyelids

And lack of sleep

The screen has no words

Only squiggles and lines

I’m sure I’ve read them before

But I can’t quite comprehend

So many slippery sentences

That are hard to grasp

As they fall from my phone

And into my eyes

They mean something

Don’t they?

What was I studying?

I check my blaring screen

And see through blurred lens

Ah, the importance of sleep

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Cthulhu

horribly literal writing of a depressed youth

Yes, Cthulhu is a reference to H.P. Lovecraft. I am a sucker for gothic and eldritch horror, though I rarely write it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.