Poets logo

The Illusion Of Smooth

Painstakingly Textured

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
10
The Illusion Of Smooth
Photo by Hannah Wright on Unsplash

Puddles of glass

Mirror like,

Line my driveway

Potholes

Deeply, dappled

Like connect the dots

I sway and I swerve

Trying to avoid them

Petals plucked out

From forget me nots

He loves me

And then, he doesn’t

Love has proven

I’m so far removed

My jagged lines

Mistakes finely

Tattooed

Displayed boldly

On my skin

Say….

I’ve never been

Smooth

I wear my flaws

Like

some badge

of honor

Can’t beat them

Join them

Is my battle cry

Every time

I press down

My edges

I bury me

A little

Deeper inside

Polished I’m not

So I mimic

The motion

Eye of the

Beholder

I lovingly

Reply

A version of velvet

With patches

Bare naked

Torn

Mangled and mangy

By the constant

Attempts

To fit in the mold

I put on my boots

Time that I

Face the

Puddles

Through

Not around

Them I

Tirelessly tread

Unscathed is the goal

The path I’m

Achieving

Practice makes

Perfect

Till I’m

Perfectly smooth

surreal poetryslam poetrysad poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreak
10

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Graham6 months ago

    What a way to describe oneself.

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Smooth and motivational!!! Loving it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Thoughtful and heartfelt poem Kelli. Great work! 😊👏

  • Leslie Writes6 months ago

    Moving piece. I love your way with words.

  • Never bury yourself. Your flaws/potholes are part of the perfection for which we love you, my friend.

  • Nice

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    Love this

  • Andrew C McDonald6 months ago

    Wow! This is fantastic. I take my hat off to you Kelli. Surreal and realistic…, powerful work. 🥰 Love it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.