Poets logo

The Hummingbirds Hymn

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings...

By NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice OliverPublished 17 days ago 1 min read
3
The Hummingbirds Hymn
Photo by James Wainscoat on Unsplash

Wondering what it might be like

To run, wild, away with you, just

As wild witches in the night.

Giddiness together my heart

Beat is set aflutter, dew from

An idea, shut down before dawn.

For, I keep her locked away, my

Nameless Bird, while she stays —lingers

Longing at the edge of her gate,

Humming in harmony with yours…

---

Thank your for taking the time to read my work, your support is what keeps me going! If you enjoyed this piece, please check out my page, like, comment, subscribe, and/or any tips are greatly appreciated! Happy reading -- Nicole <3

performance poetrysad poetrynature poetrylove poemsheartbreakFree Verse
3

About the Creator

NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice Oliver

Welcome!

My goal is to evoke emotions, senses, & feelings through the power of language/words! I am a Poet & Writer, Certified Personal Trainer, & nature lover.

Your support/tip/subscribe means the world to me, enjoy!

https://nikkideefit.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Thavien Yliaster17 days ago

    Okay, I'm sensing a theme here. Especially from the one that was published after this one. I hope that these poems aren't a reflection of Your reality and that Your reality is much better lived than what I can identify with my limited ability from these poetic words. It's sad that the cage that they've trapped the hummingbird in is their empty heart. Meanwhile the hummingbird has its own heart that beats and flutters. It's lovely being in somebody's heart, but not if their heart is cold, shallow, and hollow, only serving as a trap, to imprison and display the one who loved them so. Hopefully there is no key needed for that cage, as most doors are available to us, but they're not in the direction that we want to travel in. Sometimes to go forwards with our own lives, we have to take a few steps back to see where we need to go.

  • Great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.