Poets logo

The House Fire

Ashes Above

By Haggar BenPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
8
The House Fire
Photo by Chris Karidis on Unsplash

Ashes fell from above.

I blinked once - slowly.

Heavy smoke hampered my vision - making my eyes water.

I felt restrained - my breath caught in my chest.

I reeled over and coughed violently - sucking the thick coat of fumes back into my lungs.

The dry heat was suffocating.

I feebly attempted to wave the smoke away.

Amidst the blur - I saw her tiny silhouette, asleep.

I walked towards her despite my aching limbs.

She seemed so peaceful in her slumber.

I reached for her - removing the soot blankets and grabbed her hand to wake her.

I stumbled back - liftng my palms.

Tempered flesh glued to my bare hands.

My eyes flickered to her body.

Pale reddened skin glistening sickly as the fresh wound steamed from the fire.

Suddenly - a large gloved hand came into view and pulled me back -

covering my face with a mask -

before my legs collapsed beneath me.

Stream of Consciousnesssurreal poetrysad poetryBlackoutart
8

About the Creator

Haggar Ben

I love to dream and let my mind drift off into new worlds and characters.

With the use of this platform, I plan to practice the gift and artform of storytelling.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Marvelous work! Keep it going

  • Glenn4 months ago

    Felt the heat

  • k eleanor4 months ago

    Well written. Loved your poem!

  • Oof, this was so intense! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.