Poets logo

The Hospital Run

Doctors And Nurses Save Us But We Don't Want To Be There

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
20
Hospital

I’ve probably spent most of my working life in the National Health Service and related organizations, and been in hospital a few times as well. Although it’s the best thing for us , we never want to be there even as a visitor. I have incredible respect for doctors , nurses and support workers in all Health Services where Patient Care is the Primary objective.

This poem is just me not wanting to go in, even though I know I need to. I did work at the Freeman Hospital for five years on and off.

Lead in music , “Hospital” by Jonathan Richman and the Modern Lovers.

🧷🧷🧷🧷🧷🧷🧷🧷🧷🧷🧷🧷🧷🧷🧷

This is the place you never want to be

You know it's the place that will care for you

This is where your life will be saved, it's true

The staff have your back, they are good you see

🧷

But I am frightened, must trust someone else

I'm on a bus thinking ,I can be fixed

In care we are safe , my feelings are mixed

I will be in good hands , this is not Hell

🧷

This time next week , I know things will have moved

My friends all love me ,that makes me feel good

Hospital Wards should never be for us

We hate the confinement we hate the food

But this the cure, brings us home to love

Praise to the Hospital ,My Life ensured

🧷🧷🧷🧷🧷🧷🧷🧷🧷🧷🧷🧷🧷🧷🧷

sad poetry
20

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.1m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ Thrds

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsMariannDharCathyJudey

DawnMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Colleen Millsteed 2 years ago

    They are our guardian angels.

  • Phil The Animal2 years ago

    This is so true , love it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.