Poets logo

The Home Poem

Home is where my butt is

By Sarah SheaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Home Poem
Photo by Inside Weather on Unsplash

“Home is where the heart is.”

At least, that’s what they say.

But my heart is in so many places

it doesn’t know where to stay.

My heart is with my parents,

my brother, and even their cat.

We eat, and talk, and watch TV,

at the table or couch we sat.

Even if we cannot visit

I call them every night

to talk and laugh from my couch

until it’s time to turn off the light.

By Debby Hudson on Unsplash

My heart sighs with relief

when I first walk through the door

and sink into a chair

after dropping my bag on the floor.

Then I hear the pitter patter

of the little dog I love so dear

as he runs and jumps to see me

and bounces off my rear.

And he cuddles by my feet

when I watch TV or read a book

and sometimes I lift the blanket

at his little face to look.

My heart is in my bed,

when next to my husband I wake.

He smiles, kisses, and yawns

and I in his arms he takes.

By Josh Hild on Unsplash

We get out of bed just to pee

and open our dog’s crate door,

and crawl under the covers and cuddle

for just five—or fifteen—minutes more.

My heart is in my desk chair

because I love my work and play.

I teach at the same campus I learned

the worth of good work in a day.

My heart seems in various places

where I tend to sit my rear.

It isn’t just a coincidence

because, at this point, it’s clear

that when again they ask me

where my home is, I’ll remind:

“Home is where my butt is,

because my heart’s not far behind.”

By Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Shea

I am a teacher with a passion for creative writing. My favorite genres to write are young adult, humor poetry, and memoir essays. Join me on my journey!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.