Poets logo

The Hero's Hope for Me

Version 1

By Jeffrey SchroederPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2

I can’t help but feel a certain pity for myself

always said I wouldn’t become a drone

the youthful fight for individuality and a need to break the code,

a willful spirit is a curse for those who can’t finish the fight

conscious of my descent and indoctrination

every mind-numbing day slowly drowning the beautiful anarchy inside my soul

I can feel him fight every time I remember when he was me

He reminds me that I am a failure to everyone we looked up to.

Survival of the fittest

the philosophy that spelled the beginning of my end,

telling myself this was only for the time being

that I would pick that guitar up once I had a little time

well

it’s running out now, it was running out before, and it will keep running out,

at least I have a pretty penny to show for the precious days of my life I’ve surrendered

and maybe if I sacrifice precious moments for the rest of my life

I can spend my final days in blissful ignorance of the time wasted.

The Muse visits me once more

one last attempt to coax a troubled mind to transform its pain into beauty

I heed the call

as I watch my heroes fall

passing a torch that I’ve never had any business to hold,

this small flicker inside my head will give light to everything lost to idleness apathy

I can hear a small roar in the distance

The determined footsteps of a disappointed king coming to reclaim a throne

abandoned by a preoccupied god.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Jeffrey Schroeder

I specialize in the spooky and strange arts. Most of my stories deal with existential dread and cosmic horror. I also enjoy using poetry to explore the more spiritual side of existence. So please, enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.