Poets logo

The greed that grew

By Jamie Ramsay

By Jamie RamsayPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
1

Will this day make up for the last fourteen that I’ve lost to the greed that grew?

Will the words find themselves if I leave them alone, inside, for too long?

Have I left the keys on the counter?

Have I already packed up my things; am I still there somewhere? Or has somebody else already taken my place?

Does she share my memories, or will she have to learn her way around the greed that grew, will she have to learn her way around the greed that grew.

This girl is new in town, she comes from childhood mold and red marks, and only shares the bad memories.

She will always be tangled in the vines of the greed that grew.

It used to grow in the dark, now it grows on freeways and sun lit windows.

It doesn’t ease up and it doesn't negotiate,

this greed that keeps growing.

The greed that grew.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreakfact or fictionart
1

About the Creator

Jamie Ramsay

Every word is chosen from my throat, in the moments I feel too human.

I am your guide into the sinkhole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton F9 months ago

    I subscribed after the recommendation of your work from Jenny Blue. I am not disappointed and I hope to see more of your work while I peruse your older offerings!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.