Poets logo

The Greatest of Pains

How Could You

By Karen LaRuePublished 12 months ago 1 min read
1

How could you

Rip the child from my arms

Like they are nothing to me

Like I haven't sacrificed my everything for them

Like they aren't my entire heart

My reason to be

Or is that your only reason?

A sick need for control that has so little concern for my humanity

That you would rip the very heart from my chest in the coldest of fashions

Just to assert your authority

To show your power

To prove to me that you can

Without one thought of the harm it will cause

Without one ounce of guilt

Just a smug sense of satisfaction at having won

I'm not who you think I am though

I can regrow my own heart inside of my empty chest

I will use every ounce of necromancy that exists to come back to life

And love stronger and deeper than before

But that love is for my children

And those that deserve it

Because you can't even pry them from my cold dead fingers

Cause those fingers will claw back

And you will lose

Because you are fighting something that even death can't undo

So try it

See how it turns out for you

slam poetryperformance poetryinspirationalheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Karen LaRue

I am Karen LaRue (She/Her) a North Carolina writer of poetry and witchy things of most sorts. I belive life is full of wonder and we don't always stop to see it. Taking the time to look and listen makes life worth living!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • MT Poetry12 months ago

    Well written great✍❤

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.