Poets logo

The Great Serrated Batholith

A voyage through desolation.

By Stéphane DreyfusPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
The Very Old Man

Tumanguya I bow to you.

Let me tell you of the awareness your scoured landscapes lay bare for me.

The world is not as stable as it once was. The foundations have been shown to be worse than crumbling. They are porous with an ancient rot; the fact that they never existed. The space, the thing, we inhabit is a solitary maze of mirrors, and there have never been any walls. As we stare, mute, into the widening, rocky expanse, we see further into our own souls.

When the soul and the body are made for different purposes, the result is disintegration. The barren landscape no longer exists in a vacuum. It is a literal representation of all that remains. I have no sense of self within which to shelter because there was no key to this puzzle. No one missing piece. Rather, this a collection of several incomplete puzzles jumbled together. Each piece stolen from some other, now impossible to complete puzzle. There is no solution. Anything that fits is only an illusion. A chance connection. Was this collection made in error? How could life have failed itself so badly? Organisms are a happenstance mess of partnerships, but nobody told my pile of parts it was meant to function as a whole.

Bereft of wholeness. Forced to believe in a thin veneer of identity, hoping a way forward can be forged. The smoothness of the road belies the uneven inner void. It can only be shaky, sickening going.

I wonder about each side road. Too small to map. But I remember them all. Missed opportunities and foolish mistakes. Perhaps this is the title of my life. Wandering past life’s open doors and enthusiastically smashing myself face first into firmly closed sliding glass as a way of being. Why is my face so deformed? It lacks the silent strength of your own. Solid. Exposed to the world for millennia. Immovable. Not me. I’ve been using mine to experience rejection, lost chances, and dead ends. Any day I come home without a fresh smear of blood across shredded lips I should rejoice. Instead, I just wonder when the other shoe is going to drop. Surely, all the missed curses of this day must accumulate somewhere.

What does the sky hold?

Old one, I’m not trying to interest you in me. I’m trying to interest you in your own experience. Remember your life. Young and molten. An age spent rising through gentle earth. Trace your mind over the rough edges of your memories before they vanish into realms without dimension.

sad poetrynature poetry

About the Creator

Stéphane Dreyfus

Melanchoholic.

It’s just me. Growing old and wrong. A time lapse bonsai soul, clipped and curtailed in all the worst ways.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Charlene Ann Mildred Barroga4 months ago

    Stéphane Dreyfus, you have done a disturbing and incredibly affecting job exploring existential sadness and the transient essence of existence via the prism of the natural world.

Stéphane DreyfusWritten by Stéphane Dreyfus

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.