Poets logo

The great march

To all those stains of black left behind.

By Giovanni ProfetaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The great march
Photo by Fabrice Villard on Unsplash

THE GREAT MARCH.

Whiteness blinds my sight

So white, it hurts my eyes

Just follow the one in front

How strange, I don’t feel the cold anymore

Endless white

No time to look around

Ice can trick your stomach and make you feel full

While your body slowly eats its own

Too far from home

Stranded as one

Feeling lost

Onward we go

Screams going back and forth

Some say “Forward we go”

Others yell “I can’t go on”

Whiteness surround us all.

Are we really going home?

Or is this some kind of sick joke?

God only knows

How far we can go on.

Can we find solace in this white hell?

Is the place I call home still there?

"March! Move on!" Is all I can hear

Stains on an impeccable white landscape

walking endlessly.

Those slumbering

Flirt with death

If I could only make them see

Don’t close your eyes on me

We must continue marching to be free.

Italians POWs marching towards the Gulags.

This short poem was inspired by a meaningful conversation that I had with an Italian WW2 veteran while in my teens. If you want to read more about his experience, check my story called "Whiteness blinds my sight."

Here is the link:

https://vocal.media/01/whiteness-blinds-my-sight

If you enjoyed it, please don't forget to leave a "heart' down below.

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Giovanni Profeta

Swimming through life one stroke at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.