Poets logo

The Great Kirby Conundrum

For the Vocal Challenge “Ode to an Ordinary Object”

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 9 months ago 2 min read
4
Kirby Grips or Bobby Pins

oh sweet pins

where do you go?

how can you persistently

evade me so?

you seem to be an endless expense

teasing me always with pretence

that you are mine

.

I love awaking on days

when you are there

for how easily you style

my golden brown hair.

on others it seems I’m just not enough

and life with me must be so tough

that you leave

.

oh sweet pins

you must surely know,

i’ve had thousands of you

yet it doesn’t ease the blow

when you prefer to lay on the ground

hoping to never again be found

and return home

.

how easily

you abandon me

and over the decades

cost a hefty fee.

can’t you just choose to stay

for more than a mere single day?

and become friends

.

oh sweet pins

I’m trying my best

must I put you under

house arrest?

to stop you absconding, removing risk

and never letting you leave my desk

make you a prisoner?

.

do you leave alone

or in groups?

do you come alive

like a platoon of troops

determined to escape your master

or some impending disaster?

of which I’m unaware

.

oh sweet pins

am I mistaken?

is the truth really that

you are being taken?

kidnapped by some sneaky mouse

that lives under the floor of our beautiful house

awaiting rescue?

.

or perhaps a bird

flies in during the day

when we are at work

or distracted by play?

are you trapped in a nest somewhere

wishing to be back in my hair?

and safely home

.

oh sweet pins

where could you be?

thousands of you

successfully flee.

I take you out my hair each night

and then by morning you’ve taken flight

never again to be seen

.

so many questions

I just wish I knew

what theory of mine

is most true?

perhaps the one about a miniature bear

who really loves to pin back his hair?

stealing you from me

.

oh sweet pins

I really try my best

to keep you safe

and pass this test.

do I really warrant such distress

putting on a new dress?

and searching thee

.

hunting under sofas

as I must

my polished nails

now filled with dust.

to find but a lowly one or two

and secure my beautiful new updo

before it falls

.

oh annoying pins

I want to be done

with this hunting game

that’s just never been fun.

last week I bought a two hundred box

was it all stolen by a magical fox

who likes his fur styled?

.

long or short

coated tips or plain

colours and diamanté

all bought in vain

tell me how many do I have to buy

before you will finally comply

and stay?

.

oh sweet pins

I still love you so,

for you offer hair magic

that helps me to glow.

whether holding back bangs or securing a bun

you making hair pinning so easy and fun

when you’re here

humor
4

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    “do you leave alone or in groups?” LOL definitely in groups.

  • Lol, this was hilarious! House arrest and miniature bear! I loved this!

  • ARC9 months ago

    omgosh Kayleigh 🤣 this is so good! And I'm a male with no hair so.... not even relevant to me, and I still think this is fantastic. 👏 Definite contender for the challenge. Outstanding work 💙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.