Poets logo

The Great Cable Guy in the Sky

An Endless night of fantastical illusions

By Lamar WigginsPublished about a year ago β€’ Updated about a year ago β€’ 2 min read
16
What shall I watch tonight?

Cattle grazed in lava fields,

they're hooves did not burn.

Nor did the weeds, that grew sporadically.

I watched the magma churn.

"CLICK!"- The paranormal channel

A haunted mansion

where cricket men reside.

Windows made of diamonds

should I run and hide?

I felt I was invited

but no one was home.

All I heard were crickets,

Was I all alone?

"CLICK!"-The suspense channel

A blond-haired woman took my temperature

using long, thin wooden sticks.

They made pain upon contact,

I dared to defy her acupuncture tricks.

She looked at me with villainous eyes,

yet seemed quite concerned.

I waited for her next move,

but instead, the channel turned.

"CLICK!" -The Lucky channel

I'm at a buffet with friends,

waiting for a meeting.

We find money under our chairs

in the awkwardly arranged seating.

I met a celebrity on the beach,

you know them very well.

I never got the job interview,

But had a great time watching the swells.

"CLICK!" -The Family Channel

I run into my mother walking down a street.

We tightly hug, our demeanor was discrete.

She covers me with a cloak, a peephole was inside.

She swiftly walked away. I went along for the ride.

"CLICK!" The Bizarre Channel

Godzilla saw me through the window where I stood,

There was no denying our eye contact.

He continued destroying the neighborhood,

I wondered if I too would be attacked.

The room shook, the earth quaked!

Leaving that house would've been a mistake!

I thought about life and what was at stake.

Didn't know until now, it all was fake.

"CLICK!" -The Drama channel

My sister brings out anger in me,

I don't think she wanted my company.

Confusion sets in, she gets angry too,

To the both of us, boo-hoo-hoo-hoo.

"CLICK!" -The Travel Channel

I lay down on the bed and fell twenty feet to the ground.

I made a soft landing, that didn't make any sound.

I'm in a familiar place, the houses are the same.

I knew everything about them, but I didn't know my name.

I ran as fast as I could to a playground nearby.

I never ever reached it. For a moment, I felt very high.

and wondered why...

"CLICK!" -The Nat-Geo channel

Swimming with animals down a long narrow river.

The water is cold and clear, but I did not quiver.

I couldn't identify them with something I knew.

I could breathe under water, just like them too.

I wanted to stay but saw a giant water slide.

It was yet another illusion. I was very dissatisfied.

The remote clicks no more

I wake up and review the many things I saw and touched.

The emotions grabbed me, the sensations, abrupt.

There is more to this odd story that I can't recall.

It was truly a whirlwind of adventure. And yes, my friend, that's all...

The TV shuts off until another day...

Fields of Pain

surreal poetry
16

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    Oh man, that was so good! I loved the journey of it all, and those descriptions were so unique and vivid. Bravo! Honestly, I felt like each different channel was like a thrilling story on it's own!

  • πŸ’―πŸ˜‰The Drama Channel πŸ˜β—β—β—

  • VJHDabout a year ago

    Amazing imagery β™₯️

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    This was a crazy ride, just like a crazy full moon poem should be!! I loved how you change things so abruptly with that 'click', very well done!!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    What an adventure! So vivid and you brought me all the way through! You have a great sense of rhyme and rhythm in this :) Wonderful! Strange how we dream about the things we hear!

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    I love this because it reminds me of all the times I fall asleep in front of the TV and dream about what I hear. This really draws you in! Great job!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    That was great. Well done.

  • Mark Crouchabout a year ago

    This was an awesome read

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.