Poets logo

The Gray

A Demisexual/Graysexual Poetic Experience

By Jaye Ruggiero-CashPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
54

I’ve always been a colorful person at heart.

But I tend to not mention this one unusual part.

The truth is, the world’s black and white through my eyes.

While others revel in their technicolor worlds

The world plays around me like a black and white film.

I see mostly gray. Color? Slim.

By Mihail Ribkin on Unsplash

A lot of the time, I’m sort of lost in a blur,

Craving to see the world in technicolor.

I’ve wondered if I’m able to love for real.

What I’d give to trade some black for some teal.

I’ve thought to myself: Am I colorblind?

Is something in me broken? Just, why?

By Shifaaz shamoon on Unsplash

I used to hate it. But I’ve come to appreciate

The beauty of the black, white, and gray.

Where there’s no color, there’s still beauty, dimension, life.

In the darkest shadows and the brightest light.

Subdued, muted, but there’s still so much to see.

Depth, solitude, and a unique kind of beauty.

By KayDee Owens on Unsplash

But once in a while, every now and again,

I’ll see some color here and there.

A flash of purple, a vibrant spark.

Quickly fleeting, but dazzling and stark.

And these small sparks of color against the gray

Seem brighter, more vibrant in their rarity.

And with this canvas of gray, and color at its core,

I appreciate the color that much more.

By Manos Gkikas on Unsplash

So I cherish the color when it comes my way

And revel in its vibrancy, but still embrace the gray.

They may not understand. But whatever they say,

Color is pride. Even gray.

By Rodion Kutsaev on Unsplash

Thanks so much for reading! If you enjoyed this poem, I’d appreciate it so much if you shared it and left a heart, a tip, and a pledge!

surreal poetry
54

About the Creator

Jaye Ruggiero-Cash

Writer | Poet | Musician | Actor | Model

Lover of all things arts & humanities

Gluten-Free Foodie

"When we are shaped by the sounds and shades of truth, the colors never fade."

Join Vocal+ with my link

Follow Me!

Instagram

TikTok

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • kp3 months ago

    ah, wow, beautiful work here discussing the spectrum of sexuality and our internal experiences with it. such a stunning celebration of yourself and demi/gray life and love.

  • From one colorblind person to another this was beautiful.

  • Teresa Renton7 months ago

    Love that you’ve created this from shades of grey. I’m always driving people mad with dissecting what’s between the black and the white 😂

  • Can't add a heart or read, but I can now comment

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Great work and layered with meaning!! ☺️👏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.