Poets logo

The Good and Bad Pills

Poem I wrote based on stories and poems I’ve heard at my writing group.

By Chloe GilholyPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
5
The Good and Bad Pills
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

My money is for me, I earned my wage

And I paid all my bills on time.

No one says their for profit

But they never said they were for loss either.

*

The good and bad pills taste the same.

One waiting list to the next, then ticked off.

Clinical and cynical till death do us part.

I’m getting out of here.

*

Why should I spend my cash on side effects?

Coffee and cake is cheaper.

Freedom is not free, it’s worth the price.

My soul is not for sale.

*

I am no longer an ATM machine

Perhaps I’m now the new queen of mean.

My money is for me and nobody else.

You think that’s nasty? That’s too bad!

Mental Health
5

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll13 days ago

    You go girl 🥰🤗

  • Babs Iverson13 days ago

    Sassy and super superb loving it!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.