Poets logo

The Glass Between Us

The infinite moment

By Michael NashPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

The first time i saw you, i knew

as i stood

Peering through the glass

and yet you were unaware.

The nights and days

dreaming and sleeping

Wishing and praying

For this moment

Finding you.

The cool air between us turned rosy and warm

As the world and all its weight

Faded quietly away

up, up through my graying hair

And out, out into the expanse

waiting for me there.

Your deep brown eyes knew me

And my weathered hazel eyes melted into water

the love was uncontainable.

It was as if my whole life

All the hurt

All the pain

all the sorrow

Was suddenly soothed within this moment.

I had to hold you forever.

You were mine

Though you didn’t know it at the time.

And i was yours

Whether you wanted me or not.

Time slowed to an infinite crawl

As i stood there truly in love for the first time

and Your innocent eyes overflowing with love,

loved back.

Tiny streams formed tiny rivers tracing your cheeks

I needed to run to you

I needed to hold you

I needed to let you know it will all be alright

But the glass, the glass,

that unforgiving, obtuse glass

would not oblige

love poems
1

About the Creator

Michael Nash

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.