Poets logo

The Girl

poetry

By ShizzaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Girl
Photo by Pietra Schwarzler on Unsplash

[ 02. The Girl ]

I dreamt. I dreamt, and it left me with a weird feeling. I felt like I had just witnessed something, given something. I felt... solemn.

Maybe that was why, I didn't open my eyes right away despite being awake. I just laid quietly on my thin mattress, feeling warm and comfortable as I felt the warm body right beside me... Until I realised something was wrong. Eyes shot open, I found a girl lying on my bed with me. A stranger that wasn't supposed to be there, as I lived alone, and would always go to bed alone.

Stung by surprise, I scribbled away from my mattress. My sudden motion pulled the blanket with me, revealing that the girl was naked under the blanket. I wasn't particularly trying to be stealth either -- thus, with all the sudden motions, sounds, and cold air hitting her body, I saw the girl stirred from her sleep.

Eyelids opened, revealing a pair of beautiful eyes like gems. I saw her slowly heaved herself up and rubbing her eyes sleepily. Her mane was long enough that when she sat upright, her hair could cover her back. Noticing me that was watching her on the ground from a little distance, she then turned her face to me. The look on her face was slightly confused -- as if she were not just waking up on a stranger's bed and I was the one acting weird.

I had the feeling then, that she would be my burden for a long time.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.