Poets logo

The Girl in the Corner

She's much stronger than you know.

By Jill Harper-JuddPublished about a month ago Updated 23 days ago 1 min read
1
The Girl in the Corner
Photo by Léa Dubedout on Unsplash

My dearest love, listen

And try to understand.

I moved away from there

To start a new life here

With you.

A fresh start, a clean slate

A chance to begin again.

~~~~~

And I purposely disconnected

From my old life.

Broke ties, drew boundaries. Stepped away.

It was the only way I could find peace.

Yet somehow I’m still tethered -

Still bound by memories, by expectations,

By family.

~~~~

And of course I love them…but it is indelibly mixed

With anger and sorrow.

A bitter drink for sure.

And the worst part– I’ll admit it – the disappointment.

Their disappointment that I wasn’t what they expected.

My disappointment that anything was expected at all.

And the shame and hurt when I realized

That I wasn’t enough

Just as myself.

~~~~~

I’ve learned to live with it.

~~~~~

But no, I don’t want to go back.

I REALLY don’t want to go back.

~~~~~

You are my sanctuary.

You surround me with gentleness and peace and love.

You shelter me. You protect me.

With you I don’t have to think about it, remember it,

Or feel the ache

Of not being enough.

Or maybe -

I was too much.

Free Verse
1

About the Creator

Jill Harper-Judd

I've been writing poetry and short stories since childhood....but my life has often been chaotic so (mental) space to write can be hard to find. I am a lover of words and the worlds we can create with them. I seek beauty in all things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    Greatly enjoyed that! Wow, wonderful.

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Awww So happy you found someone who gets you, just as you are!! Great job on the pine and conveying the hurt and then the acceptance. ❣️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.