Poets logo

The Gift of Stillness

Narrative Poem

By Corey JacobsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Gift of Stillness
Photo by Harry Quan on Unsplash

Taught I was not good enough,

I sought distraction,

Uncomfortable to be me.

Mask wearing became normal,

Anything but me,

Colors worn like a chameleon.

Pain pulled me in like magnets,

Succumbed by anger,

Red, yet I yearn to find peace.

Suffering, my closest friend,

Rock bottom, no floor,

Not another person could tell.

Blue, sadness I found a home,

When will I wake up,

Mostly unaware of myself.

Green and gentle as the earth,

I unearthed a friend,

A brother lifted the veil.

Unblinded now, awareness,

Purity filled me,

Only white light charged my mind.

Stillness, contrasting nothing,

Taking full focus,

I learned a gift of living.

Eyes are closed, breathing only,

Step into the gap,

All answers near to me here.

The observer, observing,

Experiencer -

See flows of red, orange, white.

This, a gift given to me,

Dimensional planes,

Untangle traumas; answers.

These colors equal my highest self,

Chameleon colors,

No longer serves me today.

To be still in the mind

Colors, my heart's soul,

The Stillness is a gift.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Corey Jacobs

I have a zest for philosophical learnings, travel adventures, physical movement, healthy cooking, real experiences, and deep meaningful connections. I express my artistry through writing. My mantra is Life is to Grow, to Inspire, to Play.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.