Poets logo

The Gatekeeper's Wife

Subtle Remebrances

By ROCK Published 11 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
8
The Gatekeeper's Wife
Photo by Bartosz Klukaczewski on Unsplash

When the door was opened love ushered us in, our eyes met and locked once again. We left outside the weight of real life, immediate resurrection of man and wife. Again we remeet, embrace and feel the Gatekeeper's steadfast grace of steel. Were we once a humble pair splitting wood in this frosty air? Could I have worn the apron with all the little pockets and worn our love upon my breast in a silver locket? Could you have lit the lamps around these grounds, secured the doors, making dutiful rounds? Was I here boiling coffee on the woodstove, mending your clothes, warming your supper with my lips painted rose? Did we sit at this table and you ask for my hand, give me a kiss and a wedding band? Were we the lovers who lied in this bed, content with simplicity and the life we led? Whether we traveled from then to now you are still my Gatekeeper forever somehow. You've taken my love, my heart, my fears, you've kept me safe and dried my tears. The fire will burn on for eternity, you're always my Gatekeeper and hold the key. Each time we visit this calm, dreamy place, the door to our love is reopened unyielding with grace.

love poems
8

About the Creator

ROCK

Writing truth or fiction, feels as if I am stroking across a canvas, painting colourful words straight from my heart. I write from my old farmhouse in Sweden. *BLOGLINK

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    I especially enjoyed, "We left outside the weight of real life".

  • Oneg In The Arctic2 months ago

    Something so honest and sweet

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    This is beautiful. Love that lasts. Is it not a wonderful thing. I love the warm feelings and cozy togetherness of the couple.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.