Poets logo

The funeral

let me hide

By Antoinette L BreyPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
14
The funeral
Photo by Rhodi Lopez on Unsplash

She cried in sorrow

I laughed at fond memories

Her eyes hated me

sad poetry
14

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Oh no! 😄 A great entry of common misunderstandings!

  • Denise E Lindquist6 months ago

    Thank you! This is so familiar. We all grieve differently and the good memories are important and come with the sad. Tears and laughter are both healing and that is what is needed when a loved one dies. At first, I didn't like the celebrations of life until I realized they are sometimes just what is needed.❤️

  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    Brilliant work!

  • Such a contrast of emotions (and sometimes they flood one into the other). Powerful writing, Antoinette!

  • Lol, definitely awkward! Loved your Senryu!

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    That would be awkward. I think it would make me laugh more though. Nicely done.

  • Gerard DiLeo7 months ago

    A lot in so few syllables. Nice.

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Brilliant!!! Loved it!!!

  • Test7 months ago

    😪😥

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.