Poets logo

The Forest

I never built any walls, I planted a forest.

By Amanda MitchellPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Photo by Francesco Ungaro from Pexels

Have you ever heard the phrase he tore down my walls?

Well, I never built walls.

Walls are built to keep dangerous intruders out. Walls are built to maintain borders. They give the illusion that there is something to conquer.

No, I never built any walls, I planted a forest.

I surrounded my heart and surrounded my mind with the treachery of thick trees and tangled vines; sharp thorns and wild animals.

Within my forest I can keep hidden my thoughts, emotions and fears.

There are those who wander the wilderness at the dark of night. Who sees the ominousness of the woods and decides to tread onward, regardless of the hidden dangers.

There are also those who see it as an obstacle. As something to overcome and demolish, not to explore and understand.

So tell me, which are you?

Will you tear down the forest that I grew in hopes of serenity, or will you lose yourself in the wilderness with me?

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Amanda Mitchell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.