Poets logo

The Foreigner

Paid for entering

By Sid Aaron HirjiPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
6
The Foreigner
Photo by Viktor Talashuk on Unsplash

As I was going for a walk,

When I turned the next block,

Under the night sky

With no insects not even a firefly,

I saw underneath the moon,

In a tree something like a giant cocoon.

It breathed and pulsed and vibrated,

I know at this time I was not inebriated.

Out popped out a thin green being,

I couldn't believe what I was seeing!

He glared at me with big bulging eyes,

And spoke in a tongue that oddly I could devise.

I pulled my phone and played some tunes,

He danced then pulled me in a spoons.

We sat watching videos on my phone,

Ignored the overhead spying drone.

When my phone ended up dying,

This poor alien started crying.

He communicated that he missed his home,

Not knowing what to do I welcomed him into my own.

The next day the villagers had him slain,

My plan to attract a new friend was in vain.

There were monsters in the world that is true,

But it was not the one from outer space, they were me and you.

heartbreakCONTENT WARNING
6

About the Creator

Sid Aaron Hirji

Canadian born man who finds literature and science equally fascinating. Trauma bleeds through generations, words heal the hidden scars.

youtube https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCS3WEyx5XeX-o8xRwG-cMlg

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Fabulously written!!! Loved it!!!♥️♥️💕

  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    This was really good well done 😁

  • Darkos8 months ago

    Beautiful poem with sad ending revealing the often real cruelty of environment ! Your sentences are so smooth in rhymes it feels so fluid ! Congratulations Splendid One !

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    oh no. they killed your alien too. oh Sid, i am so sorry. don't worry, the mothership is on the way to get them. i hope they know that you tried. cool poem.

  • Awww, he started crying! This was a wonderful poem!

  • Diani Alvarenga8 months ago

    Love the use of rhyme here!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.