Poets logo

The Filtered Self

Embracing authenticity in a filtered world

By Nick TomkoPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
The Filtered Self
Photo by camilo jimenez on Unsplash

Scrolling through my feed,

A curated image of me I see,

With filters and edits,

Perfectly polished and ready to be.

But behind the facade,

Lies a messy and flawed reality,

A self that's unfiltered,

And not always picture-worthy.

By Marten Bjork on Unsplash

Why do I feel the need,

To present a false version of me?

Is it to gain likes and followers,

Or to mask my insecurities?

The filtered self is not true,

It's a distorted reflection,

Of who I am as a person,

And a cause for self-deception.

So I vow to be authentic,

To embrace my flaws and all,

To share the unfiltered self,

And not fear the judgmental call.

For the real beauty lies within,

The imperfections and the flaws,

And it's time we celebrate,

The unfiltered self without pause.

So let's break free from the filters,

And embrace the raw reality,

For in our unfiltered selves,

We find true beauty and humanity.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nick Tomko

Writer. Poet. Lifelong learner.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.