Poets logo

The feeling of dread

Anxiety kicking in

By Tamsin smithPublished 12 months ago 1 min read

Every step outside feels like I'm walking into the pub from American werewolf in London

I put my head down in hope that nobody talks to or makes eye contact with me

My stomach churning

My heart pounding

Waiting for someone to make a comment about how I look

Thoughts flood in

I hold back the tears

The lump in my throat starts to hurt

I get back home and close the door on the world

I breath a sigh of relief

Glad it's over

Now I can relax

But already dreading leaving again

sad poetry

About the Creator

Tamsin smith

What do i say to make you want to read anything from me? my life is pretty mundane if I'm totally honest, I am at level 43, I have a crazy imagination and enjoy writing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Tamsin smithWritten by Tamsin smith

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.