Poets logo

The fear of changing career

A collection of haiku about my exit from the classroom.

By C. N. C. HarrisPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image by josealbafotos on Pixabay

The sunset chapter

Uncertainty approaches

I did the right thing.

-

Where will I go next?

What are transferable skills?

Am I good enough?

-

The countdown begins

I almost taste the freedom

Eighteen days to go.

-

Abandonment guilt

Being inconvenient

Tired and impatient.

-

Can I afford this?

Maybe I made a mistake

But I’m unhappy.

-

Possibilities

Endless opportunities

A few weeks away.

-

Pursuing my dreams

Once I know just what they are

The world is open.

-

I have to get out

Leave before the job kills me

Struggling to cope.

-

Excited for change

Positive steps for myself

Options are endless.

-

Oh so many thoughts

Rollercoaster emotions

It will be okay.

-

What was I thinking?

How can I do something else?

This is all I know.

-

Hope blossoms inside

Positive changes coming

I’ve put myself first.

-

I’ll miss the children

They put a smile on my face

But paperwork looms.

-

Doubting decisions

What if I fail yet again?

Can I trust myself?

-

Transition is hard

The unknown is frightening

But I’ll take the leap.

-

I am powerful

I take control of my life

Yes, I can do this.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

C. N. C. Harris

Writer, artist, teacher. Thirties, hurties and surviving. Quirky lady. I don't have a niche, I love writing thrillers, romance, articles about mental health, poetry, whatever takes my fancy! Obsessed with taking photos of my dog/chinchilla.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.