Poets logo

Big Bangs

Fireworks from Rocky's perspective

By C. N. C. HarrisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image by Brett Hondow from Pixabay

Walking with my human in my favourite park at night,

When something rather strange occurred and gave me quite a fright,

The sky was filled with colours and bright sparkles raining down,

But also a horrific bang that echoed all around,

I didn't expect all the noise, the fireworks were unplanned,

I jumped so hard I yelped and shot right out my human's hand,

My heart was beating rapidly, I ran away so fast,

The fiery rumbles made me think this night would be my last,

I'm trembling all over and I don't know where I am,

I just ran from the thing I feared to hide under a van,

I hear my humans calling but I'm too scared to go back,

If I hear another firework I may have a heart attack,

My humans will soon coax me out with treats or favourite toys,

But it will be a few more weeks 'til I forget the noise,

See, humans aren't as frightened of explosions in the air,

Their ears aren't sensitive like furry creatures in their care,

So try to be considerate of all your neighbours' pets,

Your fun might end up killing us or send us to the vets,

Take out your lovely sparklers and let your streamers hang

But please minimise anything that goes off with a bang.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

C. N. C. Harris

Writer, artist, teacher. Thirties, hurties and surviving. Quirky lady. I don't have a niche, I love writing thrillers, romance, articles about mental health, poetry, whatever takes my fancy! Obsessed with taking photos of my dog/chinchilla.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.