Poets logo

The Fall |2020

Not Today

By VTPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

Falling

I don’t trust it anymore

Though I’ve seen it done many times before,

They all fall from this cliff, hearts open wide, pushing all fears aside

Feeling the rush, adrenaline spike as you gamble your heart to the one that you like

They’re there waiting on the floor

Arms open, heart in hand, they wait patiently for their lover to trust them

To take the leap, to be caught, and to see the possibilities of a future life beyond

But I don’t trust the fall

It wasn’t like I was tricked

Like I fell for a vision, a dream, a lust that let me fall, let me plummet and was nowhere to be found

No, I simply saw how dangerous it can be

The danger of gambling your heart

She fell quickly for him, like an angel in the sky towards him

And he bought the act holding his heart out to catch her

I’d never seen such a crash.

The hearts mangled and unrecognizable

The people changed and scared to let go

There was no love, no trust, no bond, but it was a duty to be carried out, due to a “stupid act of lust”

Then she would break him

Dangers protruded from her mouth and dug into his spine, leaving him feeling alone and paralyzed

Then she would leave for months at a time, ripping their mangled hearts in two, to then try to stitch back up the lines.

I was only a child when she told me never to trust, I could never be loved...

But I’m not scared by the way she decided to cut my body, I was afraid of who she was

Demons are angels in disguise

And you’d never know until you trust the fall

So I don’t trust the fall, because people can lie and people can cheat

But I’d be just my luck to find my “angel” falling to me from the sky, only to realize they were a devil in disguise  

heartbreak

About the Creator

VT

Where words fail my poetry speaks…

and I’m really not good at speaking.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    VTWritten by VT

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.