Poets logo

The Eyes I Want

a poem

By ReneePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
21
The Eyes I Want
Photo by Rhett Wesley on Unsplash

The Eyes I Want

Icy, frigid, cold

Those blue eyes

Stormy seas and shipwrecked dreams

Those blue eyes

Crinkles surround

Those blue eyes

Falsely genuine

Those blue eyes

They stare at me and tell me I’m crazy

Wrong

Manipulative

Those blue eyes

They tell me that they have not hurt me

Those blue eyes

They tell me that my feelings are irrational

Those blue eyes

They tell me that no other eyes will love me like they do

Those blue eyes

They aren’t like

These brown eyes

That tell me I’m safe

These brown eyes that are

Warm, welcoming, inspiring

These brown eyes

They stare at me and tell me that I’m worth it

Beautiful

Sane

These brown eyes tell me that my brown eyes aren’t scary

These brown eyes

They gaze at me with reverence

Warmth

Security

These brown eyes

Are the ones I want looking at me

Thank you for reading! This poem is about the transition of going from being in a mentally abusive relationship to finally finding peace and happiness with myself. After being manipulated in a toxic relationship, it was hard for me to learn to love and trust again. Thankfully, I learned to trust myself and to stand my ground which helped me to finally find the right partner for me. It just so happens that his eyes are brown, too. I hope you all find the right eyes to look at you lovingly.

love poems
21

About the Creator

Renee

I live for unexpected experiences and good food! As a cultural-enthusiast and linguaphile, my studies and passions have taken me around the world. I teach English as a foreign language and I believe that language is beyond powerful.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.