Poets logo

The Exchange

Parent and Son; Son and Parent

By Kendall Defoe Published 25 days ago 1 min read
The Exchange
Photo by Anne Nygård on Unsplash

Based on Randy Baker's 'Prompted #5':

'To Be Played At Maximum Volume'

- from the back cover of David Bowie's 'Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars':

All true...

*

From the Son:

Dad, you are, like, nowhere if you think that I’m gonna change!

Time is on my side and I don’t think you understand what it means

To be free and ready to take on the rest of the wide world with this…

I may be a little wild and crazy, but this is our sound and you should

Respect what I like. Light up another smoke and lighten up!

You may already be half-alive or even dead and not know it, old man.

*

From the Dad:

Son, I was a kid once, and with the mercy of the spirits, I will live long enough

To gain some quietude and make it through my final days on this planet with grace.

There are tools we all receive when we are born and I have learned to use them to the

Best of my ability. But I want you to know something: in the sea we sail on called “Life”,

We sometimes need a compass to guide us toward the glow and shine of the right port.

And if you ever call me old again, I am slicing up every wire in your stereo.

*

Words chosen: nowhere, time, free, wild, light, dead, compass, quietude, glow, sea, slicing, tools, grace

A Gap of Generations

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

Prosesocial commentaryRequest FeedbackhumorFree VerseFirst DraftFamilyfact or fiction

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Murali20 days ago

    "But I want you to know something: in the sea we sail on called 'Life'" I likes this line.

  • Novel Allen23 days ago

    the sheer audacity of these kids...yep. they are little know it all little farts, still ya gotta love em. Nice work.

  • angela hepworth25 days ago

    Great work! Loved the ending 😂 Reminds me of my own dad!

  • Hahahahahahahahahhaha that last line! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • shanmuga priya25 days ago

    Exceptional writting.

Kendall Defoe Written by Kendall Defoe

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.