Poets logo

The Embodiment of an Octopus

~

By Andrea JardinePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
9
The Embodiment of an Octopus
Photo by Matteo Vella on Unsplash

Gliding gracefully through the

Blackened space of an unknown territory,

I observe from the shadows as

Bright coral worlds open up to me.

The navy blue waters

Wash away the fragile surface

Before I can leave my mark

But I’m undeterred.

My unwavering passion

Is split amongst my nine brains

And pumps jaggedly through

My three hearts.

I climb the stairs of a hurricane

Thrashing about until

Each crimson tentacle

Wraps around the body of an idea.

I squeeze the life out of each one,

And sand down the edges

Until I can orchestrate some

Semblance of flow.

For I am the octopus

Spitting an ocean of words

Into the atmosphere

Crafting the rainbow over the tide.

surreal poetry
9

About the Creator

Andrea Jardine

IG: @andreajardinecreates

Currently in Toronto, Canada developing my writing skills and growing an audience. Any tip or pledge given to help me pursue this endeavour is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.