Poets logo

The Effect - Love Story (Poetry)

The Effect - Love Story in Beautiful Poetry

By Muhammad JunaidPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
2
The Effect - Love Story (Poetry)

One day you entered my dms

But never be mistaken

If they enter your dms, that's one thing

You don’t HAVE to let them enter your life

Even if you don't think they will hurt you

One day he grits his teeth

He stares at me

With such anger you can tell he feels passion

In hurting people

He has no regard for peoples feelings

My first love was verbally abusive.

You can grow, but you are never the same

Someone who lied, to get what he wanted.

If I saw through the lies, he would yell.

He would yell so loudly that I was scared to cross him on a bad day.

My first love was a lie, and I know that now.

But what about then?

No one ever tells you that forgiving someone over and over stings.

It strips your confidence like bacon and pops you with hot grease

right in the face, not something you can just get out of

Not just someone you can leave.

The Effect - Love Story (Poetry)

It's a binding, hard thing.

It takes enough strength, growth and determination

to tell yourself you’d rather love yourself, than him.

I loved you, with no love returned.

One day, I looked in the mirror and I said, "Hey, I love you.

I’m sorry for putting someone above you who didn't care but to see you fail."

That is true and honest growth.

Lots of people will tell you growth is easy.

But I will tell you this tidbit of information.

Growth is not easy.

Growth is watering yourself, just to watch yourself wilt.

It’s taking everything he ever said

burning it from your memory

If I wasn't skinny like I am

I’d never be beautiful

And forgetting it

Living my life as if you and I never met

You never let me do normal things

Flipping out when I hung out with friends

A simple act of human normality. I ate a meal,

and I regret it because of what you said

Then I realized it does'nt have to rule my life

My confidence kicks in and tells me

He could never replace you

But you could replace him

You just don't need to right now

I’m going to love myself first

I’m sorry it took me so long

But I am here now

inspirationallove poemsheartbreakfact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Muhammad Junaid

Poetry, short stories, little thoughts, memories, and a lot of things. Thanks for reading my work and please Subscribe for more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Oooo so good! ❤️

  • Lazulii Rain11 months ago

    Beautiful. Heartbreaking that we all share such similar experiences.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.