Poets logo

The Dying Light

Life's Passing

By Dan R FowlerPublished about a year ago 1 min read

The Dying Light

Though the raindrops spill upon me,

It doesn’t stop my crying unrelentingly.

Even within the wind and wayward drops,

Are tears that well up and refuse to stop.

It’s the days that I live between them,

That captures my heart but doesn’t condemn.

For thoughts of life, love, and anticipation,

Can’t be washed away regardless the situation.

Come stand with me on the isles of eternity,

Where warm breezes blow me toward my destiny.

It’s thought that life, this three score and ten,

Would be enough to see all that has ever been.

Surrendering my soul to the last of the light,

I look inward to be sure that all is right.

For to walk alone the last mile of the way,

Makes one wish for just one more day.

vintage

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.