Poets logo

The Dream That Never Wakes

Twist Of Events

By π’Ÿπ’Άπ’Ύπ“ˆπ’½π’Ά 𝒲.Published about a year ago β€’ Updated about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
4
Photo by PaaZ PG on Unsplash

Three shadow-like figures clothed my body

As my silent screams pleaded for help

Blacked out clothes, distorted faces, tall figures with massive hands, and horrific pointy fingers

They all whispered in murmurs of chaos

One pulled out its shrewd dagger bringing it towards me

With my eyes sealed, I woke up uninjured

Freedom felt near but a viscous dog was after me

With ruby blood draped from its piercing teeth

Faintly running for hours, barks, and feasting growls echoed in the distance

People were missing, and the ending was non-existent

Running, running, running

Through a black hole that lead to a dimension of nothingness

My ankle ended up bitten, leaking cruel distress

But my body was tainted with numbness

β€œGet me out of here!” My conscious mind begged, but refusal became the ringmaster

Except, I wandered to another place, a different realm

An asylum, filled with suffering people overwhelmed

With the eerie hums of β€œYou Are My Sunshine”

Each room mirrored a person battling their own nightmares and demons

Each unit seemed to get increasingly worst

The basement was the darkest

And the most cursed

The manic patients looked restless, imprisoned by their taunting dreams

One guy roars so hysterically, his bloodshot brains begin to burst

Frozen in time, obscurity,

I no longer feel human but, lackful of purity

In a arena of everlasting terror

Now I am drowning in what looks like an optical illusion

Through each dabble something strange is seen

Afar revealed the sight of two twin boys in a very tiny boat

Miniature grey clouds were fed to brains

While the other boy played with the brains like puppets

As if they were pets..

Suddenly there is confusion

The boats grows bigger and I grow smaller

Weeping in horror, a simple tap woke me from my misery

But the pondering questions remain a mystery:

What exactly did this mean to me?

And why wasn’t I able to flee?

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

π’Ÿπ’Άπ’Ύπ“ˆπ’½π’Ά 𝒲.

A rambling Curious George who just doesn’t stop writing, doesn’t stop thinking, and never stops exploring.

Feel free to tag along in my pursuit of wonders. πŸͺπŸŽ¨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    Thank you.πŸ’•

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Brilliant!!!πŸ’•πŸ’–πŸ˜Š

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is really freaky, and very good.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.