Poets logo

The Dream of Remembering"

A Journey of Curiosity, Power, and Consequence"

By Vanessa FergusonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Dream

Attendance mandatory for the day's event,

Detainees watching over children, attentive and fervent.

Kids would sit and listen to inmates' confides,

Grateful for life outside, with newfound strides.

I listened intently, without a frown,

But my appreciation for freedom had drowned.

My mind was drawn to the girl in charge,

Her blonde hair an irresistible mirage.

I didn't know her, but felt I must,

A dream urging me towards her, my desires thrust.

Each step I took, my fate felt sealed,

Like a stretched rubber band, my resolve revealed.

My mind awakened, my body followed through,

Summoning all my strength, I spoke, feeling hollow.

"What is your name?" I asked with zeal,

Unaware of the significance, my question surreal.

Her confusion apparent, she pondered within,

Unknowing that her world was about to begin.

Deep down, I knew my power was great,

My presence unfurls reality, the world to recreate.

But if I remembered just one name in my mind,

Their world would persist, a chance to revisit, a chance to find.

Her world didn't vanish, but only because,

I remembered her face, her eyes, who she was.

I saw her again, when I returned once more,

Through parking lots, airports, and a swirling watertube floor.

Hidden hedges, a pool concealing from view,

I asked names from the crowd, searching for her anew.

Realizing that in dreams, names may be concealed,

For as that world shattered, I took to a slide, feeling thrilled.

Transported to the world where my heart truly belonged,

In the mall, I remembered her, my curiosity strong.

I wandered to a bookstore on the second floor,

Where she worked, my fear begging me to ignore.

Approaching her, I asked her name again,

But my dream abruptly ended, cut short, and then...

It seemed her name, in this world, was a forbidden lore,

Perhaps, not meant for me to know, forevermore.

She exists in her world, untouched by my hand,

Despite the worlds I've created, as my intelligence planned.

A world without me would have been just fine,

But as its creator, its destruction felt divine.

art
2

About the Creator

Vanessa Ferguson

The importance of being an empathetic and effective writer. It suggests that writers should aim to understand the perspectives and experiences of others without judging them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test6 months ago

    Very well done 😘👌👍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.